How to Have The Perfect Friday Night

Every week seems to become more and more stressful as I go, but I always must remind myself that I need my own time to myself.  There are times when we simply must enjoy quietness, it can bring anyone great peace and reassurance.  At the end of the long week, it’s always a nice feeling when you can wake up in the morning and tell yourself “It’s Friday!’.  Come on, we’ve all had that happy feeling at times.

Sometimes even weekends can become stressful if we have things planned.  I know min can, I wake up bright and early every Saturday to attend my musical theatre school.  Although to me, that is mainly a privilege and enjoyment.  Of course too, there are some weeks when I have so many lines and lyrics to memorize and rehearse, that my Friday’s seem to become a day full of worry for the next.  Whenever I feel this way, like the world is weighing down on me, I try to calm myself on these Friday nights, and here are my ways how.

 

  1. Listen to Music

When I get home from a very long day (and week), I immediately remove all of my makeup, get myself in some comfy pajamas, and put on som music.  I myself have been a Broadway lover for my whole life, so typically that is what I will play. Whether it’s pop, classical, or punk rock, be sure to play whatever music makes you the happiest.  That is the main goal of course; making yourself happy on this lovely evening.

Some of my personal favorites i will listen to……..

  • Hamilton Broadway Cast Recording
  • Barbra Streisand (my all-time favorite singer after all!)
  • Classical Playlists on Spotify (aka what I am currently listening to as I am writing this!)
  • The Carpenters
  • The Beatles
  • The Bee Gees
  • Lesley Gore
  • Film Soundtracks (there is always that one film with the most beautiful score ever written)

What can I say, I’m an oldie at heart!

 

2. Watch a Good Film

Curling up in your bed with a good snack and putting on one of my favorite films is always a way to spend my free nights.  To me, watching a film will free up my mind of any stress, just to focus on that wonderful plot that lies within a film.  As I’ve said, I am an oldie, therefore most of the films I watch are mainly black and white or before the year 1980!  Classic actors that I have admired since a child can always lift my spirits.  Everyone has that ne actor they adore, that you can just feel is your closet friend when you’re feeling down.  In a way, they are!

Here are some classic films I could recommend watching….

  • Gone With The Wind (quite typical, but honestly one of my favorites!)
  • A Star is Born (1954)
  • Splendor in the Grass (1961)
  • Doctor Zhivago (1965, which by the way, is a truly cinematic masterpiece)
  • Far From the Madding Crowd (1967)
  • To Have and To Have Not (1944)
  • How to Marry a Millionaire (1953)
  • When in Rome (1952)

These are all beautifully made films in my opinion, with the greatest actors!

 

3. Play Phone Games

A nighttime when I am almost ready to sleep, I will simply go onto my iPad and play various app games to calm my brain down.  Whether it’s SimCity Build It, Candy Crush, or Temple Run, these games help relax me late at night.  Although, Candy Crush of course has its irritating times!

 

4. Read

Reading is always something I love to do while laying in bed.  I always tend to do this last, as it does tire my eyes much, and I will eventually find myself dosing off into slumber.  I myself have always loved great classic literature novels, as I feel they expand my mind and knowledge of things.  When I really enjoy a book, I will often tend to reread it.  Bad habit of mine!  But I do love going into my local used bookstore and picking up many cheap and wonderful finds.

Here are some of my favorite novels of all time…..

  • Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell (I managed to gain an original copy from the year the film came out, with the poster as the cover thank god for used book stores!)
  • Valley of The Dolls by Jacqueline Susann
  • Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

One of my must buys lately is definitely “The Girl on The Train”, as every blogger I know discusses how good it is!

 

5. Relax

Above everything else, please make sure you are relaxed while doing all of these.  If there is anything that stresses you out, simply ignore doing it.  Although, it is also very good to study at times too, just to make sure you know the knowledge you are learning in case of any approaching exams.  Find peace in your Friday night, it is very important in keeping your sanity!

 

How do you relax yourself on Friday nights? Tell me, I would love to hear!

Of course, tweet me @candidlydarling anytime!

 

6 Replies to “How to Have The Perfect Friday Night”

Leave a Reply

