Grateful

Since I live in America, Thanksgiving is very quickly approaching. In fact, my family is having our dinner tonight! But besides that, I think everyone, no matter where they live, should recognize the things they are grateful for on this day. Today I would like to discuss what I am grateful for.

After the loss of my grandmother, whom I was very close with, my eyes and mind were widely opened. I do intend on writing about my experience with her loss at some point in time, as well. But, as of now, I am grateful that I knew my grandmother the way I did.  My grandmother was widowed at a remarkably young age, and ever since she had always felt lonely. She was from Europe, she traveled the world her whole life, but alas, had no one to talk to about it. Her children loved her dearly, but really, didn’t understand the fascination. I was the person who did.

My grandmothers stories fascinated me as a child, and they still do to this day. We understood each other in a way that is very rare, and I didn’t know it at the time, but I do believe we were each other’s best friend. I will never know anyone who was as strong and as beautifully minded as my grandmother. For that relationship, I am very grateful.

Besides the obvious things to be grateful for, family, a home, etc, I am truly grateful for everything involved with my beloved grannie. Not many people get to talk to a loved one for the last time, knowing it’s the last, and getting to say goodbye. I did. I will never in my life be able to express how grateful I am, to be able to tell that woman how much she meant to me, and her the same. That is truly a conversation I will never forget in my life. I thank God everyday for that phone call, and for having her in my life.

Truly, we all have that one person whom seem God sent to us.  In reality, they most likely are. Understanding my heritage and fascination for my grandmother, has made me a very passionate towards history and literature. Truly, she made me who I am today, and that was God’s intention on letting her be in my life, when I was old enough to understand her purpose.

Do not take people for granted.  This is always said, but it is true. You will truly never know how much someone means to you, until you no longer have them with you. This is just a fact of life. This holiday season, make sure you let your loved ones know how much you love them, it can mean a lot to that person.  Be thankful, and have a beautiful week and Black Friday!

What or who are you thankful for? Let me know in the comments or tweet me @candidlydarling I would love to know!

One Reply to “Grateful”

Leave a Reply

