Moving on to a New Year

Well, 2016, it’s time to bid you farewell.  I must say, I know a ton of people on social media absolutely hated this year, and claim it was one of the worst.  Although, to me this year had many beginnings for me that I am very proud of.  Here’s some of the things to me that made this year great:

Friends I’ve made so many incredible friends this year, and become close to truly amazing people. I am talking about people who I know will always be there for me, from time after time.  I’m so thankful to have these people in my lives now.  Like it was said in It’s a Wonderful Life, “No Man is a Failure who has Friends”.

Broadway my friends and I were lucky to see a number of incredible musicals this year that we love.  Some of mine including in NYC itself!  In total, I believe we saw eight shows in total this year, which is the most we’ve had in a year!  The best I had seen was If/Then on the US Tour, Hamilton, and Waitress on Broadway!  (Yes, I did manage to get a Hamilton ticket at the very last minute)

Blogging I have for sure stepped up my blogging game this past year, and I’m so glad I did.  The blogging community is so loving and welcoming, and I could not be more proud to be a part of a community.  I would say my writing skills have gotten somewhat better, and they can only approve!  Blogging has become a passion of mine, and I am so happy that I have found an audience to share my passion with.

New York City Need I say more?  My trip to NYC this year made my entire year perfect.  I mean, I don’t like bragging at all, but I’m so grateful that this was the year I finally saw Barbra Streisand in concert.  Hamilton, too!  It is truly to me the greatest city in the world, and every time I travel there I find myself in my happiest place.  Plus, I am already beginning to plan my second trip in the spring!

Self Care I can definitely say I have improved my self care tremendously this year.  I have begun to care about my appearance and have learned to be a little less insecure about myself.  I’m very proud of myself at some points for where I was, and where I am now.  I am truly a much happier person than I was a year ago. This was the first full year without my grandmother in my life, and I’ve learned to remember her happily, not sadly.  I have also conquered social anxiety a little bit, which is truly something I feel free from.

Hair One of the biggest changes I have made this year, was cutting off all of my hair!  I must say, I absolutely adore my short hair, and I don’t think I want to go back to long. I will be posting a blogpost on my experience with short hair soon!
2016, you’ve been kind me, and hopefully to others. Now I fully embrace 2017 with an open mind and heart.  Here’s to a great year and to many more!

Was this year good to you?  Let me know in the comments or tweet me @candidlydarling I would love to know! 

4 Replies to “Moving on to a New Year”

  1. Hey Skylar! I feel the same way about blogging :)) It’s a welcoming community & most bloggers are happy to meet others! I also feel like my writing skills have improved in such a short time too, so it’s definitely a useful hobby to have. Congrats on such a successful year :)) Happy 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

