The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Nighttime Review

I recently did a poll on Twitter asking if anyone would be interested in I began reviewing the Broadway shows I see.  Everyone voted yes, so I’ve decided to begin my Theatre Review series!  Let me know if you want me continuing this series, writing about the shows I see is something I am very passionate about!  Thank you!

This past weekend, my best friend invited me to another wonderful show day with her.  This time around, we were seeing the touring Broadway production of “The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Nighttime”, which I was a little skeptical at first.  I myself have never really seen a play before, I’m more of a musical buff.  Although, I heard this play was very good, so I decided to go.

The show itself is very modern, and I must say it’s biggest thing is its sets. The sets and lighting to this show are very spectacular, and I thoroughly enjoyed it very much.  There were some times the lighting did get a little bit too bright, though. 


The story is about a young teenage boy who discovers his neighbors dog, dead.  After being accused of the crime, he sets out to find out who really did kill his dog.  Along the way, he discovers some dark secrets of his parents’ past.  The story is very captivating and interesting, I must say.  I won’t spoil it though!

The play is two and a half hours, and every second of it is thrilling. I went into the show not knowing a single thing about the plot, and I was very intrigued through the entire thing.  This show is very smart, and extremely creative with the way it is set up.  Like I said, the modern electric sets and sounds makes the entire show come together.


The cast was very talented, and all gave terrific and convincing performances, in my opinion. This show was very enjoyable and worth seeing to anyone interested in a thrilling plot. It was like watching a movie the entire way through!


Overall, I loved this play.  I would give it about a 8/10, because it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through.  I highly recommend going to see this show if you get the chance, you won’t regret it!

Have you seen Curious Incident before or plan on seeing it? Let me know in the comments or tweet me @candidlydarling I would love to know!

One Reply to “The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Nighttime Review”

Leave a Reply

