It’s Okay to Pity Yourself

It’s Okay to Pity Yourself


Today I wanted to discuss I topic I’ve always received mixed views on, especially from family. This is when we “pity ourselves”, and why many people think it is wrong and you shouldn’t. I have been reading up on the subject on the internet as well, which has inspired me to write this post.

I myself had been through fairly good crap at a young age, and I become very emotional upon becoming a teenager. I won’t go into all of my issues, but it involved family members dying and others not wanting anything to do with me. I felt sorry for myself. My family, on the other hand, thought this was wrong for me to feel this way. I myself, think this is not wrong. We are all allowed to feel how we feel, and no one should ever tell us if that feeling is wrong. We deal with issues our own ways, and it is completely personal to each of us. I have blamed myself for years on everything that happened, thinking that if so many people want nothing to do with me, it is my fault. These were people who I thought really loved and cared about me. It hurts to see people turn their back on you when you needed them the most. It’s okay to feel hurt, not a “selfish pity party”.

I don’t want everyone to feel sorry for me, I don’t even discuss these subjects with anyone but my close family members. A lot of us struggle with depression and anxiety out there, and I understand these two very well. I have been okay for the past year I believe, and that is all because I have allowed myself to feel hurt, then overcome it. To overcome sadness we have to address it, and accept what happened. In my opinion, whatever happened was God’s plan, and it was meant to happen. There is absolutely nothing I can do about it now.

We are allowed to feel how we want to feel, even if in our own private times. I hope I could help some people see how it is okay to have these feelings, and they are very important to have. You deserve to have your own “pity party”, too.

Love,

Skylar.

6 Replies to “It’s Okay to Pity Yourself”

Leave a Reply

