Literature: And Why It’s Important 

Today I want to talk about a subject I’m deeply passionate about: Literature.  Ever since I was in middle school, even elementary, I began reading very large novels. I’m not gifted or anything trust me, I just love the challenge of reading a comprehensive novel.  I’m going to talk about some of my favorite novels, which are very large, and why I feel it’s important to everyone to read great Literature at some point. 

When I was about ten years old, I was able to understand Shakespeare plays. I was in love with Romeo and Juliet, and I memorized most of it when I was younger.  I still have a lot of it memorized. I know tons of people can’t stand Shakespeare, or even begin to comprehend his works, but they’re easy to me.  I read Hamlet when I was younger too, but it is a little more mature and hard than Romeo and Juliet.  Recently I’ve reread it, and it is now one of my favorite works.  (Shout out to the 1994 film version, that film is as much of a masterpiece as the show).

Besides Shakespeare, my two favorite novels are The Great Gatsby, and Doctor Zhivago. I read The Great Gatsby many years ago and fell in love with the novel. I have read it so many times, because the novel itself is fairly short. My version of it is just under 200 pages.  My absolute favorite novel, though, is Doctor Zhivago. I first watched the film first, which is a timeless classic (and starring my favorite actress Julie Christie), and I fell in love with the story.  It is just a vast novel with the most beautiful and tragic story, it remains a classic in my mind. Plus, the history behind the publishing of the novel is interesting, too.  

I think it’s very important for people to read a large novel at some point. It can really open up your mind and horizon, and give you a deeper understanding of the world.  Especially old novels, those are so interesting to read, and being able to see how people used to talk and write back then. 

Some of my other favorite novels include; Gone With The Wind, The Go Between, War and Peace, Valley of The Dolls, and some of my favorite actors autobiographies!

Love, 

Skylar 

Leave a Reply

