Things to Do in 24 Hours in New York

I finally got to take my long awaited weekend trip to New York City at the beginning of June!  It was a wonder and love filled trip, and I couldn’t be happier that I got the chance to visit again.  I for sure found some great things to do in just one day spent in the city from this experience.  I took an overnight bus into the city, and actually arrived about two hours earlier than we were supposed to.  I got into the city at about 7:00AM, and went to bed around 1:00AM!  It was a very long day, but it was filled with lots of fun in the greatest city in the world.

After spending my first day in the city, I decided to write-up this post about it.  I will admit that a lot of the tourist things I tend to do in the city, are bought with Groupon.  Groupon is an app that gives you coupons and deals on things to do in any selected location you choose.  It is a very great way to find unique and cheap activities on vacations.  I highly recommend the app, because my family and I have used it quite frequently, including some awesome hotel deals!

Pedicab

My family used Groupon to book a very cheap Pedicab tour through some of Central Park, and it was honestly one of the best things I have ever done in the city.  It was so nice on a hot day to just sit back, relax, and enjoy Central Park without walking too much!  Our tour guide was wonderful, and he gave us some fun facts about all the spots we passed in the Park and city.  We had some photo-op opportunities, and we were able to get out for him to take our picture at different spots, including the fountain from the opening credits from Friends!


Overall I would highly recommend doing a Pedicab tour while visiting the city.  We saw a lot of great spots, and for a really great price!  We also got dropped off at 5th Avenue, close enough to visit The Plaza Hotel yet again.  Pedicab’s are a very great way to see the city and park with walking less, and it only took us an hour!

Statue of Liberty Boat Tour

I actually did this boat ride with my family a few years ago during my very first visit to the city.  It was once again another Groupon deal, and it was actually very lovely.  Instead of going to Liberty Island and climbing up to the top of the Statue of Liberty, you can take this boat ride past the statue.  This boat tour stops in front of the Statue of Liberty to get some awesome pictures, and it is a great way to get up close and personal to the statue.

Not only is the boat tour great for viewing the Statue of Liberty, it is also a great way of viewing the city!  You can really see Manhattan at a gorgeous angle from the boat, and it is the best way to get some great pictures of Manhattan.  I do recommend doing the boat tour if you feel like doing something very touristy while in the city!

Rockefeller Center

Rockefeller Center is home to many different things in New York City.  If you visit the city during winter time, you can even ice skate in their skating rink outside of the building.  However, during the summertime, there is also tons of fun things you can do indoors as well.
If you want to view the city, you can of course make your way to the Top of The Rock.  This outdoor viewing center at the top of the building is a great way to get those awesome photos of the city.  However, if you’re afraid of heights like me, it might be a little scary up there!

If you’re not interested in going to the top, Rockefeller Center is also a large shopping area.  They have many different clothes shops you can spend a good bit in, and it’s such a great place to do your shopping in New York.  If this doesn’t particularly interest you, you can see a live tapping of “The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon”.  You must be 16 and over to go to the show, and tickets are free when ordered online.  Although, you might want to buy them about a year in advance, they become sold out quite quickly!


The Plaza Hotel

This is personally my favorite place to visit in all of New York City.  The Plaza Hotel is located on the famous 5th Avenue, and in my opinion is one of the prettiest buildings in the city.  Inside, you could dine in their restaurant for a very pricey bill, but they also have a cheaper “cafeteria” downstairs to the building.  Down there, they have different food stops, and of course, the most gorgeous looking desserts.  Besides eating, it is a really beautiful place to just walk around and take some wonderful pictures.

Besides The Plaza, there’s also a ton of stuff to do on 5th Avenue.  My favorites are visiting Tiffany and Co, along with Bergdoof Goodman’s.   These two places are extremely pricey shops, but it is still nice to go inside these famous locations in New York.  Central Park is also right across the street from these, and you have easy access to it and the Subway system from this area.


See a Broadway Show

This is of course my favorite option to spending a night in the city.  There are so many different and great shows you can see on Broadway, and they are all worth seeing.  I recently went and saw Anastasia on Broadway, which was based off the animated film I loved as a child.  I may be biased because my friend is the star, but I’d highly recommend seeing Anastasia for so many reasons!

Everyone does want to see Hamilton, and the truth is, you can find the right ways of getting tickets.  I did back in August, and I got to see the show very last minute.  There are tons of shows that are hard to get into right there, but there’s also different resources to see them.  If anyone has any questions of how to do so, feel free to contact me on Twitter or Email!

 

 

4 Replies to “Things to Do in 24 Hours in New York”

  1. I can’t believe you did all this in one day! No wonder you were awake for 18 hours. I absolutely love taking those boat tours around Manhattan. Seeing this list, I realize for the millionth time how many NYC things I still haven’t done, even though I grew up right outside the city!!

    xx
    Emily
    emilyhallock.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like lots to pack in to 24 hours but a great run of things to do. Pedicabs in London are so dodgy but good to see that they’re reliable in New York. I’ve not been since I was about 7 years old but I’d love to return.
    Josh
    http://www.LOOKDWN.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

